Improving the Quality of Life

Naturopathic Medicine

Naturopathic medicine is a distinct primary health care system that blends modern scientific knowledge with traditional and natural forms of medicine.


The naturopathic philosophy is to stimulate the healing power of the body and treat the underlying cause of disease. Symptoms of disease are seen as warning signals of improper functioning of the body, and unfavourable lifestyle habits. Naturopathic Medicine emphasizes disease as a process rather than as an entity.
 
Treating both acute and chronic conditions, naturopathic treatments are chosen based on the individual patient – their physiological, structural, psychological, social, spiritual, environment and lifestyle factors. In addition to diet and lifestyle changes, natural therapies including botanical medicine, clinical nutrition, hydrotherapy, homeopathy, naturopathic manipulation and traditional Chinese medicine/acupuncture, may also be used during treatments. (Source: Canadian Association of Naturopathic Doctors)

Naturopathic Oncology is the application of naturopathic medicine in the field of cancer care and treatment. Naturopathic oncologists work together with hospital oncologists bringing their wisdom, perspective and experience to aid oncology treatment teams that seek the best positive outcomes for their patients. (Source: OncANP)


What to expect from a naturopathic consultation

A patient can expect to see one of our naturopathic doctors for an initial consultation of up to 85 minutes, in which medical history, relevant test results, and current health status are all assessed and a treatment plan is put in place. Follow up blood tests are often requested to look more closely at vitamin/mineral status. The treatment plan varies for each patient but will consist of nutritional guidelines, vitamin and herb supplementation, lifestyle changes to promote rest and exercise, the use of IV Vitamin C where suitable, and referrals to other physical and emotional therapists at the OICC. Patients return for 60-minute and 30-minute follow- ups sessions as needed.

Read about our naturopathic doctors…

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Traitement du cancer

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Naturopathie

La naturopathie est un système de soins de santé primaire distinct qui combine les connaissances scientifiques modernes aux formes traditionnelles et naturelles de médecine.


La philosophie de la naturopathie est de stimuler la capacité de guérison du corps et de traiter les causes sous-jacentes de la maladie. Les symptômes de la maladie sont perçus comme les signaux d'un mauvais fonctionnement du corps et des habitudes d'un mode de vie défavorable. La médecine naturopathique met l'accent sur la maladie comme processus plutôt que comme entité.
 
Les traitements naturopathiques des états aigus et chroniques sont choisis selon chaque patient, sa physiologie, sa structure, sa psychologie, les facteurs sociaux, spirituels, son environnement et son mode de vie. Outre les changements de diète et de mode de vie, nous pouvons utiliser les thérapies naturelles pendant les traitements, y compris la médecine par les plantes, la nutrition clinique, et la médecine et l'acupuncture chinoise traditionnelles. (Source : Association canadienne des docteurs en naturopathie)

L'oncologie naturopathe est l'application de la médecine naturopathe dans le domaine des soins et du traitement du cancer. Les oncologues naturopathes travaillent avec les oncologues des hôpitaux et apportent leur sagesse, leur perspective et leur expérience pour aider les équipes de traitement oncologique qui recherchent les meilleurs résultats possible pour leurs patients. (Source : OncANP)


À quoi s'attendre d'une consultation naturopathique

Un patient peut s'attendre à voir un de nos docteurs en naturopathie pour une première consultation d'environ 85 minutes pendant laquelle sont évalués l'historique médical, les résultats de test pertinents et l'état de santé actuel puis un plan de traitement est mis en place. Il faut souvent des analyses sanguines de suivi pour examiner plus à fond le niveau des vitamines et des sels minéraux. Le plan de traitement varie d'un patient à l'autre, mais se compose de lignes directrices sur la nutrition, les vitamines et les suppléments à base de plantes, les changements de mode de vie pour favoriser le repos et l'exercice, le recours à la vitamine C intraveineuse, le cas échéant, et le renvoi à d'autres thérapeutes physiques et affectifs au CCIO. Les patients reviennent pour un suivi de 60 ou de 30 minutes au besoin.

Pour en savoir plus sur nos docteurs en naturopathie