Improving the Quality of Life

Massage Therapy

Massage therapy encompasses many different techniques. Typically, therapists press, rub, and manipulate the muscles and other soft tissues of the body. Mostly, they use their hands and fingers, but sometimes use their forearms or elbows.


Lymphedema and lymphatic drainage therapy is a form of massage that addresses blockages in the lymph system which may result from cancer, radiation treatments or surgery.  With this type of massage, the soft tissues of the body are lightly rubbed, tapped, and stroked. It is a very light touch, almost like a brushing. Massage may help move lymph out of the swollen area into an area with working lymph vessels.  Once the lymph fluid is moved out of a swollen limb, bandaging (wrapping) can help prevent the area from refilling with fluid. Bandages also increase the ability of the lymph vessels to move lymph along. Lymphedema that has not improved with other treatments is sometimes helped with bandaging. (Source: National Cancer Institute)

What to expect from massage therapy

An initial consultation involves filling out a health history form, reviewing the patient’s health history and current complaint/reason for coming for massage, and answering questions. Assessments include postural, range of motion, palpation (feeling tissues), measurements of limbs, and special tests. The therapist sends individuals home with self-care exercises and tools. If time permits during the initial consultation, hands-on treatment is given, if not, the next treatment will be mostly hands-on.

Read about our massage therapists…

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Traitement du cancer

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Massothérapie

La massothérapie comporte différentes techniques. Habituellement, ces thérapeutes pressent, frottent et manipulent les muscles et les autres tissus mous du corps. Le plus souvent, ils utilisent leurs mains et leurs doigts, mais ils utilisent parfois leurs avant-bras ou leurs coudes. 


Le drainage lymphatique et du lymphoedème est une forme de massage qui défait les blocages du système lymphatique que le cancer, les traitements de radiation et la chirurgie peuvent provoquer. Avec ce type de massage, les tissus mous du corps sont légèrement frottés, tapotés et lissés. Il s'agit d'un toucher très léger, presque comme un brossage. Le massage peut aider à dégager la lymphe des régions enflées vers d'autres régions en travaillant les vaisseaux lymphatiques. Une fois le fluide lymphatique déplacé d'un membre enflé, un bandage (emballage) peut aider à éviter que cette région ne se remplisse de nouveau de fluide. Les bandages augmentent également la capacité des vaisseaux lymphatiques de déplacer la lymphe. Tout lymphoedème que d'autres traitements n'améliorent pas profite parfois de l'emballage. (Source : National Cancer Institute)

À quoi s'attendre d'une massothérapie

La première consultation consiste à remplir et à examiner le formulaire relatif aux antécédents de santé et la raison ou la plainte pour laquelle on vient se faire masser, et à répondre aux questions. L'évaluation comporte la posture, l'amplitude du mouvement, la palpation (sentir les tissus), la mesure des membres et des tests spéciaux. Le thérapeute envoie les personnes à la maison avec des exercices et des outils personnalisés. Si le temps le permet pendant la première consultation, on donne un traitement physique, sinon le prochain traitement sera surtout physique.

Apprenez en plus sur nos massothérapeutes